Bread-Baking Date

I’ve had this date in mind for a while. In fact, I was planning to do it the week of the stargazing date, but decided to take advantage of the relative warmth outside (and lack of rain!) instead. Since I already had everything planned, it made an easy date for this week (I was giving the RCIA presentation Tuesday & going in to school with my prince Wednesday, so I didn’t have a lot of time to prepare anything else). The date ended up on Saturday just because that’s how this week went–busy!

When I first got a wheat-free bread recipe to work, my prince wanted to know how hard it was to make. The kitchen isn’t exactly his favorite place to be (at least, as a cook), but he used to make the best cheesecake (when he could still have dairy) & salisbury steak and he’s gotten the knack of making oat crackers when I’ve got too much going on to replenish the stash. I decided to give him a guided tour of the bread-making process for this particular recipe, both to give him the experience & because I enjoy company in the kitchen :). I didn’t want it to be a drudgery for my prince, though…

First I went looking for patterns for a chefs hat. It turns out it’s pretty simple. You need a rectangle & a circle. I used an old sheet for the fabric.

Next I turned the recipe into a puzzle by finding the various ingredients, times & temperatures in Scripture verses (the full recipe is in the pages to the right if you want to check your answers!):
Wheat-Free Batter Bread
1 cup brown rice flour, preferably super-fine grind
1¼ cup oat flour (I put oatmeal through the blender)
5/8 cup (1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp.) tapioca starch/flour
3/8 cup (1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp.) potato starch
2¼ teaspoons (Luke 13:21) (1 packet)
2 tsp. xanthan gum
1 tsp. (Colossians 4:6)
2 large (Isaiah 10:14), room temperature
1 tablespoon (Proverbs 24:13)
¼ cup (Hebrews 1:9)
1¼ cups (John 4:13), warmed to (Genesis 50:22)F to (Acts 1:15)F
1. Prepare a 9-inch bread pan (or an 8-inch bread pan and 3 muffin tins) by greasing well and dusting with oatmeal. THIS IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT! If you don’t you won’t get the bread out of the pan. Set aside.
2. Place dry ingredients into the mixing bowl of a mixer. Mix on low for a few seconds just to combine ingredients.
3. In separate bowl, whisk the wet ingredients together.
4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Then mix for (I Samuel 17:40) minutes on medium-high speed. Batter will resemble a very thick (sticky) cake batter.
5. Spoon batter into prepared pan(s); either put it all into one 9-inch loaf pan or use a large ice cream scoop to portion the batter into 3 standard-size muffin cups and then spoon remaining batter into the 8-inch bread pan.
6. Let dough (Luke 22:46) in a warm place for (Mark 1:13) min. or until nearly doubled in size. Preheat oven to (Genesis 9:28)F.
7. Place pan(s) in preheated oven and bake for approximately (Luke 3:23) (for rolls) to (Acts 1:3) minutes (for loaves). Bread is done when internal temperature reads (Mark 6:37)F.
8. Cool bread in pans for (Mathew 25:1) minutes. Remove from pans and cool on a rack.

This is the invitation my prince received a week ago (to give him a chance to look up the verses when he had time off!):

Heating Water

Checking the Temperature

Today I brought out the hats & set out to be a chef’s assistant. Doesn’t he look distinguished?!

The Bread's Rising (I'm holding it)

Grading

My prince has a particularly heavy load of grading this weekend, so he went back to that while the bread rose & baked (I told him that was ok as long as he kept the hat on 😉 !).

I made margarine (see recipe to the right), did the dishes and took a few minutes to “knead” my prince’s shoulders (would’ve done more of that if he hadn’t had so much grading…).

Making Margarine

Margarine supplies next to rising bread

Ready to cut...

Time to eat!

Enjoying the fruits of our labors–yum 🙂 !
This entry was posted in Date Nights and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

