A Wordy Date

My prince wanted to talk when he got home. He’d gotten some feedback at school he needed to process and he’s a verbal processor. We talked over supper, talked on a walk & then kept talking through some other details we needed to handle for the night. By then he was ready for a change of pace.

I didn’t really have time to prepare for this date–I was working full-steam on the first presentation for adult education for our parish (we’re mostly re-using RCIA presentations, but I wasn’t happy with the first one & completely revamped it), but I knew my prince wanted to keep reading & we hadn’t gotten to our game last week.

By the time we were ready to settle in for our date, there was only about an hour left of the evening. I asked my prince if he wanted to try both the book & the game, or to pick one. He chose the game.

We found UpWords at a thrift store recently & since we both enjoy wordplay, we decided to give it a try.

It was more challenging than I expected, especially the part about stacking letters to form new words. You sort of have to think in three-dimensions, which has never been my strong suit. We enjoyed it, though, and worked together to come up with ideas. Our time ran out before we “officially” finished the game, but my prince was handily ahead. Smart man :).

This entry was posted in Date Nights and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

