R’ice Cream & Reading Date

My prince was lamenting lately (when the temperature soared into the 90’s) that it was weather like this that makes him miss ice cream. I got to wondering. Could I do anything with rice milk?

Well, shortly after that I spotted a tiny hand-crank put-it-in-the-freezer ice cream maker at a St. Vincent de Paul thrift store. I pointed it out to my prince & on an “oh why not” whim, we bought it. As soon as we got home I went on the internet looking for recipes. I actually found a site that said frozen bananas (sliced) put through the blender/food processor turn into a creamy frozen dessert. Most people add peanut butter and/or chocolate to fill out the flavor, but both are out for both of us, so I stuck with banana & rice milk. That actually worked pretty well. It took me a few tried to figure out how the ice cream maker worked (no instructions) & the “r’ice cream” needed a touch of honey, but it tasted good. My next try was pumpkin “r’ice cream”: a pumpkin custard (pumpkin pie filling without the milk or crust), mixed half & half with rice milk & put through the ice cream maker. That was pretty good too. Then I was ready to try a new variation for our date: strawberry-banana–pretty much the same as the first, but with the addition of strawberries.

We shared this one. It was alright, but I thought it “needed something”. Maybe a drop or two of vanilla…(my prince thought it was fine!). Afterward I asked if there was any other flavor he’d like me to try & he said he’s always liked maple nut–so that’ll be next!

My prince wanted to continue reading The Man for Her so I curled up against him on the couch with the laptop on my lap & we alternated chapters (with the strawberry-banana “r’ice cream” on the side).

My prince was especially cuddly afterward that night–and this morning :). I’d expected him to want to sleep in, but he said the book had inspired him to keep me company. I wasn’t complaining ;)!

This entry was posted in Date Nights and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to R’ice Cream & Reading Date

  1. Pingback: 13-Year Anniversary Date | At Home in our Domestic Church

Leave a Reply

