Habits That Have Served Us Well…

My prince & I begin the day with a “between the alarms” cuddle.
As he’s on his way out the door, we bless each other
& pray the Prayer to St. Michael
(we started that the year he had a particularly troubled class of students–
spiritual warfare at work).
As he drives away, we wave goodbye, blow a kiss & signal “I love you” in sign language.
He comes home to, “Welcome home, Sweetheart!”,
& he gives me a big hug (as soon as I can get my hands free :).
We hold hands during our meal prayer & end it with a hug & kiss.
We close the day by again blessing each other before sleep.

We hold hands when we’re out & about.
He opens doors for me & I make a point of waiting for him to do so
(unless time is of the essence–I say I make a point of it
because I’m usually in a hurry & he’s not).

We stick to these habits no matter how we’re feeling,
as a choice to love & honor, as we vowed we would 20 years ago.
They bind us together when everything else is pulling us apart.

This entry was posted in Date Nights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment